Adwords Keyword Suggestion Tool - Using It Right
The Adwords keyword suggestion tool(KeywordPlanner) is used by most internet marketers, even if they aren't running a pay per click campaign. This tool is recognized as one of the premier keyword tools around. I mean after all, Google is pretty much top dog when it comes to search engines so who wouldn't want to get keyword information directly from them?
Picking the right keywords to target for your pay per click campaign is one of the most important elements you will have to consider. There is a fine line when it comes to choosing which keywords to use. If you use a one or two word keyword you will likely see that they get a ton of monthly searches, but they will also be very, very difficult to be competitive with. For most of the smaller online marketers the bid prices for those keywords will simply be too expensive to be profitable.
For most of us, the 'long tailed' keywords will work much better. These are actually keyword phrases that have 3 or more words in them. They can still get a great number of monthly searches (though not as high as the one or two word keywords) but they will usually have much less competition.
By using the keyword tool you will have access to a lot of helpful information. You will not only get a list of the top keyword phrases and the average number of monthly searches they get but you will also be able to find out what the average cost per click (average CPC) price will be for those keywords.
Obviously, the cost per click will just be an estimate since the popularity of the keyword is only one of the elements that determines how much you will pay for each click, but it's a place to start. You'll know right away that if you have a daily budget of $50 that a keyword with an average CPC of $10 will probably be out of your budget even though it might not really cost quite that much it's more than likely still going to be too expensive for you.
The keyword tool will also give you and idea (it's just a rough estimate, don't expect it to be exact) of the amount of competition a given keyword has. That can come in very handy when you're planning your campaigns.
Another cool thing about this keyword tool is that you can type in your base keyword and be provided with other keywords phrases that are relevant that you may not have even thought of. It's virtually impossible for us to think of all keywords associated with our niche market, so it's nice to have a keyword tool that makes suggestions to give us more ideas.
Besides the sheer volume of potential customers online the neat thing about the internet is the vast array of free tools you can use for your business. When it comes to finding good keywords the adwords keyword suggestion tool will work very well.. and it won't cost you a dime. Use these tips to get the most out of it for you.
Adwords Suggestion Tool For Profitable Keywords
Doing business online means that your primary goal is to get traffic to your website. There are many methods you can use to generate that steady stream of traffic: Pay Per Click, Search Engine Optimization, and article marketing. All of these methods have one thing in common: you have to have a good list of keywords for them to work. That's why many online marketers turn to Googles adwords suggestion keyword tool.
There are other programs online that will help you find great keywords, but most people stick with the giant and use the Google keyword tool. This tool will give you most of the information you'll need to set up successful advertising campaigns online.
Of course, as with everything, the keyword tool is not the do all end all. It's a really good place to start but you really have to drill down to find as many possible results as you can.
Most people will use this basic approach when doing their keyword research: type in a broad phrase and then take some of the results and drill those down even further.
Enter a general term and make note of the results. Depending on what you are using the keywords for, you may want to set the keyword tool to show you specific things such as the estimated cost per click, or the amount of competition, etc.
Once you've gotten a general list of possible keywords to target you can then get more specific in your search. For example, if you're searching for dog toys you would enter 'dog toys' in the keyword tool. You will get back a fairly comprehensive list but you can than take those results and narrow them down further.
So if you got the term homemade dog toys you may be able to further hone that down to wooden home made dog toys. You get the idea. Start broad and narrow your selections down until you've got a complete list of highly targeted keywords to use for your online advertising campaigns.
The narrower you make your list the more targeted, and likely to actually make a purchase, your visitors will be. Also, you'll have less competition for the term wooden homemade dog toys then you would for dog toys. True, you'll also have fewer searches but the searchers you do have will be very targeted and they won't cost you as much.
Don't get too caught up the estimated cost per click numbers. These are only estimates. The actual amount you, or anyone else, pays for a given keyword can vary significantly based on several factors such as the quality score Google assigns to your ad.
The more clicks your ad gets the higher the quality score you'll receive. If you have a high quality score your ad will show up higher in the results and you'll pay less for the keyword.
Just don't fall into the trap of believing that it's going to give you every result for any given keyword and make sure to keep in mind that the results you get will largely be estimates and not exact numbers.
Adwords Login - Your Pay Per Click Tips
To increase your traffic flow and get your share of the Google pie, your first step is to sign up with Google, go to your Adwords login and set up your first campaign(s). Adwords is Google's version of Pay Per Click (PPC) advertising. All the search engines have their own variations of PPC and they are all called something different.
Pay per click means just that: when someone clicks on your ad, you pay. How much you pay can vary depending on several variables such as the quality score of your ad and the competition of your keywords. Since no one really knows just how Google calculates their quality score, it can be somewhat difficult to figure things out.
If you have an ad with a high quality score you can get a higher ranking when your ad shows up in the results. So instead of your ad being shown in the last position on the first page, or not on the first page at all, your high quality score ad will show up within the top ads shown for that keyword.
Quality score is thought to be made up of, at least partially, how many clicks you get per number of views. This is called the Click Through Rate (CTR). So the more times your ad is clicked on the higher your quality score will be since Google thinks that your ad is getting a lot of clicks because it's highly relevant to the keywords it's targeting.
For example, you've just set up your first campaign and you're targeting the keyword: dog training. You've carefully chosen many keywords that are very directly related to your niche. Your ad is well written and intriguing. Your ad is shown a lot and a lot of people who see it will actually click on it so you have a high CTR. Google will reward you for your high CTR by showing your ad more often and charging you less per click than some of your competitors will have to pay.
This whole process tends to get very complicated and convoluted. Since you are paying for the clicks you get, and you may be paying a premium since you've not had the time or experience to dial it in and get that high quality score, you have to make sure that you have enough money in your advertising budget to be able to stick with your PPC campaigns long enough to make changes and tweak things until you get to the point where you are getting a high CTR and the best price possible on your keyword bids.
With PPC so complicated and having so many elements that you have to keep track of, you may be wondering why people use it at all. The answer to that is because it works. Again, if you can afford to stick with it while you are learning it, you can get a lot of visitors and in turn make a lot of sales. And that all starts right at your
Adwords login page.
Adwords login page.
Adwords Marketing - Equals Traffic - $$$Equals Dollars$$$
Using Google Adwords marketing is one of many ways you can promote your website and get a lot of very targeted traffic. This form of advertising is very effective, if you know how to do it. If you don't know how to do it, it will get very costly very quickly. Unless you have money to burn, you really should consider taking the time to fully learn all the ins and outs of using this method for getting traffic.
The two biggest advantage of using Pay Per Click (PPC) marketing is that it's fast and the traffic you get will be very targeted (it's not just about getting thousands of visitors to your site. If those people aren't really interested in what you are selling they won't buy... period. You want customers not just visitors). Getting the traffic quickly is a wonderful thing for anyone who wants to make money online. It's a numbers game and the more visitors you can get to your offer or website, the more sales you'll make. It's as simple as that.
The biggest down side to using PPC in general and Adwords in particular is it will cost, sometimes a lot. There is a steep learning curve and just when you've got a successful campaign going it's not uncommon for Google to make changes that will affect your campaign.
It is expensive to run a successful Adwords campaign, especially in the beginning. Why? Because when you're first getting a campaign set up you are learning what works and what doesn't. To really dial it in and make sure you are getting the most out of your ads you will need to test, and while you are testing you will be spending money.
That doesn't mean you won't be making any, but it does mean that until you find the right combination of headline, keywords, and body of an ad you will likely pay more for clicks than you'll make in sales.
When you are testing your ads make sure that you only change one thing at a time. For example, run the ad, than change the headline than run it again. Did your clicks go up or down? If they went up keep the second headline but change the body copy. Did your clicks go up or down? Keep doing that until you have a winning ad.
I know this article is about PPC and Adwords and I don't want to get too far off topic, but there is something else you need to keep in mind because if you don't, it will cost you. And that is, that the clicks are only half of the story. Even if you've tweaked your ad so you've got a great ad that gets a lot of clicks, if those people don't make a purchase, or sign up to your list when they visit your website you've essentially wasted the money on the click. While tweaking your ads don't forget about your website copy too.
Adwords marketing can work well if you know how to do it properly. Take some time to learn how, set a realistic ad budget and keep testing. That's the best way to leverage the power of Google.